Riding to work I felt like listening to some Common and decided on his album “Be”

Here is a verse from the song “Faithful”
I was rollin’ around, in my mind it occurred
What if God was a her?

Would I treat her the same? Would I still be runnin’ game on her?

In what type of ways would I want her?

Would I want her for her mind or her heavenly body?

Couldn’t be out gettin’ bogus with someone so godly

If I was wit’ her would I still be wantin’ my ex?

The lies, the greed, the weed, the sex

Wouldn’t be ashamed to give her part of my check

Wearin’ her cross, I mean the heart on my neck

Her, I would reflect on the streets of the Chi’

Ride wit’ her, cause I know for me she’d die

Through good and bad call on her like I’m chirpin’ her

Couldn’t be jealous cause other brothers worship her

Walk this earth for her, glory, I’m grateful

To be in her presence I try to stay faithful

This verse didn’t mean that much to me when it originally came out and of course it didn’t because I wasn’t faithful..wasn’t trying to be either.

It reminded me of …

Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength.Deuteronomy 6:5 

Love the Lord , all his faithful people! The Lord preserves those who are true to him, but the proud he pays back in full. Be strong and take heart, all you who hope in the Lord .Psalm 31:23‭-‬24

